NPP MPs vote against Ayariga’s tertiary fees absorption motion

Mahama Ayariga is MP for Bawku central

Members of the ruling NPP in Parliament have voted against Mahama Ayariga’s motion for the suspension and absorption of fees for students of public tertiary institutions and support for private ones.

The motion which was amended to suit inputs from the majority was moved by the Bawku Central MP and seconded by a minority spokesperson on education Peter Nortsu.

Information minister-designate and Ofoasi Ayirebi MP Kojo Oppong Nkrumah set in motion the opposition from the NPP MPs. He argued the move is an illegality since the House cannot compel the President to spend money from the consolidated fund.

Other NPP MPs including minister-designate for Education Dr Yaw Adutwum followed suit with their opposition

Their NDC counterparts, however, accused them of refusing to be part of a process aimed at alleviating the plight of suffering families.

Speaking to the media after proceedings, a visibly disappointed minority leader Haruna Iddrisu stated the move by the NPP MPs to depart from earlier agreed decision to support the motion has forever dealt a great blow to consensus building in the 8th Parliament.

“Building cooperation and consensus may prove difficult going forward because this was our first opportunity to have cooperation from those in the government.”

“It means they are not ready to cooperate, not ready to build consensus, and they probably may find it very difficult asking us to same in the foreseeable future,” Mr Iddrisu said.



Source: Ghana/